top of page

Sprouts - Mar 20, 2023


Poyom is a civil engineer, gardener and artist working to find regeneration through his artistic practice

GRC Spotlight: Poyom Riles


Location: Oakland, USA, North American Bioregion


What got you into regenerative work? Poyom has engaged with regenerative landscape work since college. From working as an ecological landscaper, or as an engineer with the South Bay Salt Pond Restoration Project, and even a civil engineer with municipal stormwater and waste water management, he admires water's regenerative capabilities. Working with water and flow is at the core of his relationship to regeneration


What does regeneration mean to you? “The definition I keep coming back to… is that is regeneration allows that thing to express the full essence of what it is.” He sees regeneration in how creek beds respond to fallen trees, or fallen river bank to morph, adapt and continue to live despite temporary disturbance. At it's core, regeneration is the natural flow of things many often forget.


What's been inspiring you recently? "My art. I want that to unfold as fully as possible. I’m ready to give that a space.. I want to be relentless in my practice" He describes his art as the inner work of touching the flow which is quintessential to regeneration.“The definition I keep coming back to… is that is regeneration allows that thing to express the full essence of what it is.” He sees regeneration in how creek beds respond to fallen trees, or fallen river bank to morph, adapt and continue to live despite temporary disturbance. At it's core, regeneration is the natural flow of things many often forget.

 
  • The conversation group GRC Regen Ed kicked off this week as "a place to begin the discussion on transforming and regenerating learning!"

  • The second GRC Open Co-working happened last week, focusing on Cross-Network Collaborations and Partnerships. We talked about inter-network interactions, summits, and the value of deepening our current and expanding future connections

  • Michaela Emch and Biomimicry Switzerland invites you to the next free webinar, on March 22nd at 18:00 CET, focusing on food regeneration in arid regions.

  • We had one of our first in person meet ups in San Francisco this week "to hike to a solar punk future, via ikigai and systems change."

Explore a compelling lecture on drought land management at the intersection of biomimicry and indigenous practices. Hosted by our friends at Biomimicry Switzerland
 

Session highlight: Regenerative Governance


This series is for discussion and co-learning of what it means to govern regeneratively and how regeneration can inform governance. Coordinated by David Wietzel This week's session was facilitated by Lyn McDonell who was looking for reactions to how conventional board governance can and must adapt its assumptions, perspectives and practices to be responsive to what is ahead (and happening now). Lyn shared the emerging elements of her work to allow for maximum conversation. Her hope is that we improve our approach to better serve the intent our hearts know.


Regenerative Governance explores how our laws, politics, and action can lead us in collective socio-ecological healing

 

This week with the CoLab


GRC: Regen Economics - A discussion for evolving new understandings

Mar 21, 2023 8-9am PST / 11am EST / 12:00 BrTZ / 1500 UTC / 1600 CET / 1800 EAT / your time zone

This is a place to discuss and share innovative ideas as we shift our economic paradigm towards regeneration. Join the diverse GRC community in discussion, as we explore our evolving understandings of the paradigm shift we are all experiencing.

Our species needs to evolve and learn how to be in the ‘right relationship’ with nature and this planet we call home. Our conversations will be journey-focused, collecting ideas and evolving our viewpoints as we move towards collective solution. Hosted by Pam Campbell & Tanuja Prasad.

GRC: Regen Ag Community Chat

Mar 21, 2023 9am-10am PST / noon EST / 13:00 BrTZ / 1600 UTC / 1700 CET / 1900 EAT / your time zone

This is a time for people working on or interested in Regenerative Agriculture & related topics to get together, meet, compare notes, and maybe colab. Join us!

Hosted by Erik van Lennep.

GRC: Regenerative Insights Circle

Mar 22, 2023 0830 UTC / 0930 CET / 1130 EAT / 1400 IST / 1930 AEDT / 2130 NZDT your time zone

Welcoming participation from all over the world. Please join us Wednesday.

What do we do? We talk and work with each other in an international group of collaborators and friends. Sometimes a project is presented and often our group members end up working together on projects, foreseen and serendipitous. Co-working and parallel play are always available. Whatever the mode, please bring a friend if you like. Hosted by Andrew Crosby and friends.

GRC: Regen & Governance - 8 Principles

Mar 22, 2023 8-9am PST / 11am EST / 12:00 BrTZ / 1500 UTC / 1600 CET / 1800 EAT / your time zone

This week's session will be led by Kathryn Alexander. She's working with a small non-profit organization that has been experimenting with Sociocracy /Dynamic Governance for about a year. We are now wondering about how to make changes, improve communication and allow for the tweaking growth requires. I’d like to explore with you how Elinor Ostrom's 8 principles for managing the commons might help us to do this growth effectively.

This session is part of a series for discussion and co-learning of what it means to govern regeneratively and how regeneration can inform governance. Last week's session, led by Lyn McDonell, focused on Boards & governance. Here are links to the video & lively chat.

GRC: Regen Ed - a place to begin the discussion on transforming and regenerating learning

Mar 22, 2023 5:30-6:30pm PST / 8:30pm EST / 21:30 BrTZ / 11:30am AEDT / 1:30pm NZDT / your time zone

This is your invitation to join a discussion on systematically changing education and developing ecological literacy to address the multifaceted and interconnected crises facing our world today.

In our first meeting, we would like to hear from everyone about any educational projects that they have been, or currently, involved in and the types of topics that they would like to see explored in these sessions. We hope you will join us on this journey to discover ways in which our educational systems can be reformed, transformed, and regenerated. Hosted by Dan Beltramo and Cassandra Goodmansen.

GRC: Regenerative Insights Circle (one hour earlier for Europe, normal time for USA)

Mar 23, 2023 9am-10am PST / noon EST / 1300 BrTZ / 1600 UTC / 1700 CET / your time zone

Please note: I have changed the time of this meeting to correspond to the same 9:00am slot in the US, but earlier by one hour for those in Europe and parts further east. Sorry for any inconvenience. We'll do the same next week and then revert to our normal time once Europe changes time too.

Welcoming participation from all over the world. Please join us. Co-working available as well.

No scheduled guest appearances this week, but co-working, whole working, or parallel play available. We are free-wheeling or co-working. Whatever the mode, please bring a friend if you like. See you there. Hosted by Andrew Crosby and friends.

Consensual Tech Talk

Mar 23, 2023 12pm-1pm PST / 3pm EST / 1600 BrTZ / 1900 UTC / 2000 CET / your time zone

Introducing Consensual Tech Talks: Do an inventory of what we’re currently using for remote collaboration. Look at some alternatives. Hands-on helping each other onboard with new tools.

These calls are hosted by Day Waterbury and are a gathering place for people from aligned communities.

Regeneration Pollination

Mar 24, 2022 0900 UTC / 1000 CET / 1200 EAT / 1430 IST / 2000 AEDT / 2200 NZDT your time zone

Connect with colleagues & allies bringing forth a regenerative future via speed-networking through Zoom chats. Please share & invite more people!

More information, future events, and to signup for our newsletter at Regeneration Pollination

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page