top of page

Sprouts - May 1, 2023

Updated: May 8


Cassandra Goodmansen is an ecologist and urban planner in the US. Catch her at Regen Ed on Weds!

GRC Spotlight:

Cassandra Goodmansen


Location: Philedelphia, USA - North American Bioregion


How did you come to regenerative work?

Cassandra came to the regenerative world through a project with the Nez Perce Tribe in north-central Idaho. "It really took me from being interested in ecology and climate change... and sustainability, but then [made me] realize I needed something more." She now works in designing urban gardens and landscapes for people to cultivate and breathe regeneration instead of merely reduce their damage on our environment.


What is regeneration to you?

"Nature works... I know this for a fact." Cassandra returns to the ways our ecosystems heal, grow, branch and increase in complexity when she considers regeneration. She reflects"seeing natural systems be used in human systems made me feel so much better... like there's a path forward."


What's next? There's a big divide between theory and practice. "We can have world-changing ideas, but nobody does anything with it." To channel this frustration, she's currently working on a project to transform the yard of a nearby county jail into a pollinator and permaculture garden for inmates, among other projects in urban design for Bucks County, Pennsylvania.

 

#Regenwins

  • Check out Kevin Richard’s new framework (codename Ocean20) to help organisations and teams navigate complex ecosystems, developed over the past few months with colleagues Daiana and Krasi: the framework uses metaphors which interconnect and help draw a map of realities & possibilities, and highlight relationships to foster new narratives.

  • The Regen Economics group is interested in exploring more around Donut Economics. Check out more about our conversation groups if you want to learn more!


 

Session highlight: Consensual Tech Talk

Introducing Consensual Tech Talks: Do an inventory of what we’re currently using for remote collaboration. Look at some alternatives. Hands-on helping each other onboard with new tools. These calls are hosted by Day Waterbury and are a gathering place for people from aligned communities.




 

This week with the CoLab


GRC: Regenerative Economics - A discussion for evolving new understandings

May 2, 2023 8am-9am PT / 11am ET / noon BRT / 4pm BST / 6pm EAT / 2030 IST / your time zone

This is a place to discuss and share innovative ideas as we shift our economic paradigm towards regeneration. Join the diverse GRC community in discussion, as we explore our evolving understandings of the paradigm shift we are all experiencing.

Our species needs to evolve and learn how to be in the ‘right relationship’ with nature and this planet we call home. Our conversations will be journey-focused, collecting ideas and evolving our viewpoints as we move towards collective solution. Hosted by Pam Campbell & Tanuja Prasad.

GRC: Regen Ag Community Chat May 2, 2023 9am-10am PT / noon ET / 1pm BRT / 5pm BST / 7pm EAT / 2130 IST / your time zone

This is a time for people working on or interested in Regenerative Agriculture & related topics to get together, meet, compare notes, and maybe colab. Join us! Hosted by Erik van Lennep and Cassandra Goodmansen.


Regen Ed – a place to begin the discussion on transforming and regenerating learning

May 2, 2023 noon-1pm PT / 3pm ET / 7pm GMT //

May 3, 2023 7am NZST / your time zone

This is your invitation to join a discussion on systematically changing education and developing ecological literacy to address the multifaceted and interconnected crises facing our world today.

We hope you will join us on this journey to discover ways in which our educational systems can be reformed, transformed, and regenerated. Hosted by Dan Beltramo and Cassandra Goodmansen.

This is the first of two weekly calls dedicated to this topic. The other call happens on Wednesdays at 6:00 pm PDT / 9:00 pm EDT.


GRC: Regenerative Insights Circle

May 3, 2023 7:30am-8:45am GMT / 8:30am BST / 9:30am CEST / 1pm IST / 3:30pm PST / 5:30pm AEST / 7:30pm NZST / your time zone

Welcoming participation from all over the world. What do we do? We talk and work with each other in an international group of collaborators and friends. Sometimes a project is presented and often our group members end up working together on projects, foreseen and serendipitous. Co-working and parallel play are always available. We are free-wheeling or co-working. Whatever the mode, please bring a friend if you like. Hosted by Andrew Crosby.


GRC: Regen & Governance

May 3, 2023 8am-9am PT / 11am ET / noon BRT / 4pm BST / 6pm EAT / 2030 IST / your time zone

This series is for discussion and co-learning of what it means to govern regeneratively and how regeneration can inform governance. This weekly session will be a co-created exploration of what regenerative governance means and how we, as regenerators, can apply it. Coordinated by David Witzel.


Regen Ed – a place to begin the discussion on transforming and regenerating learning

May 3, 2023 6pm-7pm PT / 9pm ET //

May 4, 2023 9am-10am PST / 11am AEST / 1pm NZST / your time zone

This is your invitation to join a discussion on systematically changing education and developing ecological literacy to address the multifaceted and interconnected crises facing our world today. We hope you will join us on this journey to discover ways in which our educational systems can be reformed, transformed, and regenerated. Hosted by Dan Beltramo and Cassandra Goodmansen.


This is the second of two weekly calls dedicated to this topic. The other call happens on Tuesdays at 12:00 pm PDT, 3:00 pm EDT, 9:00 pm CEST.

GRC: Regenerative Insights Circle

May 4, 2023 9am-10am PT / noon ET / 1600 UTC / 5pm BST / 1900 EAT / your time zone

Welcoming participation from all over the world. Please join us. Co-working available as well. No scheduled guest appearances this week, but co-working, whole working, or parallel play available. We are free-wheeling or co-working. Whatever the mode, please bring a friend if you like. See you there. Andrew


Consensual Tech Talk

May 4, 2023 noon-1pm PT / 3pm ET / 8pm GMT //

May 5, 2023 7am NZST / your time zone

Introducing Consensual Tech Talks: Do an inventory of what we’re currently using for remote collaboration. Look at some alternatives. Hands-on helping each other onboard with new tools. These calls are hosted by Day Waterbury and are a gathering place for people from aligned communities.


GRC: In-Person Bay Area W3 (Warp and Weft for Weality)

May 4, 2023 4:30pm-7:30pm PT

Bringing together diverse allies from values-aligned networks including Bioneers, Terran Collective, Wellbeing Economy Alliance, Collaborative Technology Alliance, Internet Identity Workshop, All Tech Is Human, Work on Climate, Global Regeneration CoLab, ARC Regenerative Communities, and ESC Surveillance Capitalism. If you’re interested in how we can collaborate toward a wellbeing economy, we would love to have you join us for a kava, cacao, kombucha, or just fresh water and high vibes!

Convened by Day Waterbury.


GRC: NSF Grant for Open Source Ecosystems #2

May 5, 2023 ⋅9am-10am PT / noon ET / 1600 UTC / 5pm BST / 1900 EAT / your time zone

The NSF is offering the 2nd round of grants to support design & development of "open source ecosystems" to "to harness the power of open-source development for the creation of new technology solutions to problems of national and societal importance."

This is the 2nd session to provide community-building support for future ecosystem-building efforts! This session will include introduction of projects considering submitting proposals to NSF.


Regeneration Pollination Online Networking

May 5, 2023 10am-11am PT / 1pm ET / 1700 UTC / 6pm BST / 1900 CEST / your time zone

https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZIkdOCupjMvEtW1qo5P7cBK1bcmUithNa--

If you are dreaming about a regenerative future, come meet others walking the same path. Cross-pollinate with other networks and expand your support base of allies. Until we can once again meet in person, let us get to know each other better online. During these one-hour "drop-in" sessions, we'll organize random, one-on-one video chats so you can meet new people, discover new networks and projects, trade ideas, start relationships and generally strengthen the community making our regenerative future a reality. Please share with your networks, interested connections, and regenerative friends. #RegenPollination


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page