top of page

Sprouts - May 14, 2023

Updated: Jun 1, 2023


Emily Prieto is a marketing specialist, entreprenuer, earth-bag builder and permaculture practitioner

GRC Spotlight: Emily Prieto

Location: Chiriquí, Panamá - Central American Bioregion


How did you come to regenerative work?

Emily's regenerative journey began with an epiphany. "We have to build our house out of dirt!" she exclaimed to her husband. She had learned about earth bagging, and mentioned "we failed really hard on our faces," but moved to Montana, got into permaculture and found ways to bind that to her expertise in branding and entreprenuership.


What is your aspiration in Regeneration?

Emily's dream is to "create a place where [people] can learn the competencies where they're lacking... [in a] collaborative space where they weave the futures they want." She combines her expertise for marketing with her passions for regeneration hosting a virtual school called Seeds of Tao that does just that! Through this work training regenerative entreprenuers, she contributes to the future of "thousands of impact entreprenuers slowly bringing more regenerative options to the market."


How can people learn to weave enterprise and regeneration?

By checking out all the resources at Seeds of Tao! They have free monthly think tanks with global entreprenuers, master classes with experts, and regenerative economy network maps in addition to a virtual class in its beta stage. The greatest difficulty Emily notices in regenerative spaces is that regenerators often "literally are not speaking the same language" as more traditional investors. The mission of Seeds of Tao is to bridge that gap.

 
Join GRC members Jyo Maan, Carolina Carvalho and Joshua Prieto in an inter-network collaborative showcase co-organized by GRC! Featured here: decolonial approaches to regeneration with Jyo Maan and others.
 

Session highlight: The Week

Check out a limited three-part series this week in collaboration between GRC, Greaterthan and the Permaculture CoLab in an effort to make sense of "the defining crisis of our time."


Greaterthan is a dedicated network and learning academy working to create a "a place for those who dare to seek new organising structures & cultures that contribute to healthy systems for all.


Permaculture CoLab is a network of permaculture practitioners dedicated to supporting local and linking international permaculture projects working to heal our agro-ecological systems


See below for dates and times!

 

This week with the CoLab



The environment is breaking down and the climate is changing rapidly. The Week is a group experience to help us see what’s coming and what we can do about it. Join fellow travellers at Greaterthan, Global Regeneration CoLab and Permaculture Colab and take the journey together!

Recently, it’s been hard not to notice how fast the climate is changing. Experts say it will get worse rapidly. Too often, this issue feels abstract and overwhelming. The Week is a way to engage this issue, for real, with our friends, family or colleagues. It doesn’t tell us what to do, but empowers us to make up our own minds. So that we can say down the line: I knew what I needed to know, I did what I need to do and I have no regrets.

Episode 1 is the hard one where we go down the “U” and look straight at what’s coming, without blinking. In episode 2, we make sense of it all. And episode 3 gets us up the “U”, it’s empowering and inspiring.

GRC: Regenerative Economics - A discussion for evolving new understandings May 16, 2023 8am-9am PT / 11am ET / 12pm BRT / 4pm BST / 6pm EAT / 2130 IST / your time zone

This is a place to discuss and share innovative ideas as we shift our economic paradigm towards regeneration. Join the diverse GRC community in discussion, as we explore our evolving understandings of the paradigm shift we are all experiencing.

Our species needs to evolve and learn how to be in the ‘right relationship’ with nature and this planet we call home. Our conversations will be journey-focused, collecting ideas and evolving our viewpoints as we move towards collective solution. Hosted by Pam Campbell & Tanuja Prasad.


GRC: Regen Ag Community Chat May 16, 2023 9am-10am PT / noon ET / 1pm BRT / 5pm BST / 7pm EAT / 2130 IST / your time zone This is a time for people working on or interested in Regenerative Agriculture & related topics to get together, meet, compare notes, and maybe colab. Join us! Hosted by Erik van Lennep and Cassandra Goodmansen.


Regen Ed – a place to begin the discussion on transforming and regenerating learning

May 16, 2023 noon-1pm PT / 3pm ET / 8pm GMT //

May 17, 2023 7am NZST / your time zone

This is your invitation to join a discussion on systematically changing education and developing ecological literacy to address the multifaceted and interconnected crises facing our world today.

We hope you will join us on this journey to discover ways in which our educational systems can be reformed, transformed, and regenerated. Hosted by Dan Beltramo and Cassandra Goodmansen.

This is the first of two weekly calls dedicated to this topic. The other call happens on Wednesdays at 6:00 pm PDT / 9:00 pm EDT.


GRC: Join Christiana Gardikioti hosting Regenerative Insights Circle

May 17, 2023 7:30am-8:45am UTC / 8:30am BST / 9:30am CEST / 1pm IST / 3:30pm PST / 5:30pm AEST / 7:30pm NZST / your time zone

Christiana will be hosting this week. Join for a new approach, different vibe in our weekly call. Welcoming participation from all over the world. What do we do? We talk and work with each other in an international group of collaborators and friends. Sometimes a project is presented and often our group members end up working together on projects, foreseen and serendipitous. Co-working and parallel play are always available. We are free-wheeling or co-working. Whatever the mode, please bring a friend if you like. Hosted by Andrew Crosby.


GRC: Regen & Governance - An Incubator

May 17, 2023 8am-9am PT / 11am ET / noon BRT / 4pm BST / 6pm EAT / 2030 IST / your time zone

This week we'll have a conversation about how to govern and co-creators' incubator for regeneration projects with Harrison Lee. Harrison will describe the incubator concept and we'll design together with a special emphasis on incentives & decision-making. Coordinated by David Witzel.


Regenerative Business Economy Network (regenBEN) Map

May 17, 2023 11am-12pm PT / 2pm ET / 3pm BRT / 7pm BST / 9pm EAT / your time zone

During this event we'll be gathering together to help map and connect impact entrepreneurs and the regenerative enterprises they are building to the greater regenerative business economy each is contributing towards.Here's what to expect during the meeting:

  1. Intro to the regenBEN Map (15 min): learn about map that is being drawn out to better understand the entrepreneurs and enterprises that make up the collective regenerative business economy network.

  2. Q&A (15 min): ask questions and give suggestions on the mapping project.

  3. Mapping with group (30 min): together we will add new impact entrepreneurs, regenerative enterprises, and make the connections to the bioregions, business models, and industries they are working in.

You can view and gain access to the map here: https://www.seedsoftao.com/blog/episode-112-the-regenerative-business-economy-network-map Hosted by Joshua Prieto and Carolina Carvalho


Regen Ed – a place to begin the discussion on transforming and regenerating learning

May 17, 2023 6pm-7pm PT / 9pm ET //

May 18, 2023 9am-10am PST / 11am AEST / 1pm NZST / your time zone

This is your invitation to join a discussion on systematically changing education and developing ecological literacy to address the multifaceted and interconnected crises facing our world today. We hope you will join us on this journey to discover ways in which our educational systems can be reformed, transformed, and regenerated. Hosted by Dan Beltramo and Cassandra Goodmansen.


This is the second of two weekly calls dedicated to this topic. The other call happens on Tuesdays at 12:00 pm PDT, 3:00 pm EDT, 9:00 pm CEST.


GRC: Join Jo Petroni hosting Regenerative Insights Circle

May 18, 2023 9am-10am PT / noon ET / 1600 UTC / 5pm BST / 1900 EAT / your time zone

Welcoming participation from all over the world. Please join us. Co-working available as well. No scheduled guest appearances this week, but co-working, whole working, or parallel play available. We are free-wheeling or co-working. Whatever the mode, please bring a friend if you like. See you there. Andrew


Consensual Tech Talk

May 18, 2023 noon-1pm PT / 3pm ET / 8pm GMT //

May 19, 2023 7am NZST / your time zone

Introducing Consensual Tech Talks: Do an inventory of what we’re currently using for remote collaboration. Look at some alternatives. Hands-on helping each other onboard with new tools. These calls are hosted by Day Waterbury and are a gathering place for people from aligned communities.


GRC: In-Person Bay Area W3 (Warp and Weft for Weality)

May 18, 2023 4:30pm-7:30pm PT

Bay Area W3 (Warp and Weft for Weality) at Melo Melo on Grand Ave at 4:30PM. Bringing together diverse allies from values-aligned networks including Bioneers, Terran Collective, Wellbeing Economy Alliance, Collaborative Technology Alliance, Internet Identity Workshop, All Tech Is Human, Work on Climate, Global Regeneration CoLab, ARC Regenerative Communities, and ESC Surveillance Capitalism. If you’re interested in how we can collaborate toward a wellbeing economy, we would love to have you join us for a kava, cacao, kombucha, or just fresh water and high vibes! Convened by Day Waterbury.


GRC: r3.0 with Bill Baue

May 19, 2023 ⋅9am-10am PT / noon ET / 1600 UTC / 5pm BST / 1900 EAT / your time zone

r3.0 Senior Director Bill Baue will present on social norm tipping points, or leveraging positive social tipping points to avert adverse ecological and social tipping points. This thinking underpins the 10th International r3.0 Conference (Activating Restorative Norms: Healing Harm, Connecting for Change) -- a hybrid event happening 12/13 September in Amsterdam and online. https://conference2023.r3-0.org/

He will join us to give a status report on R3.0, talk about what's working, and how people in GRC can be supportive.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page